Meet Me

Ben & I at a friend's wedding in 2008
   Hi, and welcome to my blog, Urban Granola!

My name is Selina and I'm 27 years old. I am a Christian and love the Lord. I got my degree in elementary education, but I've just been working in a small office for 7 years. My husband Ben is my high school sweetheart and my first love. <3 We have been married for 7 years, and together for 12.

Our first child, Monster*, was born on April 1, 2010! We just found out a few weeks before his first birthday, that we were expecting another little bundle of joy! We did not find out the gender of baby #2, and we were surprised to be blessed with our beautiful baby girl, Sweet Pea*, on November 27, 2011. :D

What is Urban Granola?
Some people would probably call me crunchy/granola/hippie because of the parenting decisions I've made, and I agree - to an extent. We are an attachment parenting family. I breastfeed, cloth diaper, co-sleep partially, baby-wear, use cloth menstrual pads, prefer natural toys (wood, cloth & imagination instead of plastic & batteries), use natural/homeopathic remedies, and use the baby-led weaning method to introducing solids. My sister-in-law coined the term "urban granola" - a healthy mix of modern & hippie. But I'm not an avid environmentalist, I don't buy organic food, and I do indeed shave, thankyouverymuch, haha! I didn't get here by making a conscious decision to be "crunchy" in my parenting; these things are just what I've decided is best for my son, and I guess when you add them all up - I am pretty granola. Thank goodness I've got my urban side to keep me balanced. :) 

Thanks for stopping by, I hope you find something you enjoy. And please leave a comment to let me know you were here. I love reading comments! And come visit again soon!

*No, those are not their real names. ;)


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...